NOBA Nordic Baltic contemporary art platform

RIBOCA 2, the 2nd Riga International Biennial of Contemporary Art, taking off on May 16th, has announced the artists participating in this year's event. RIBOCA 2 will focus on the European art scene while taking a closer look at the Baltic area and to the fact that the biennial’s vision is inspired by the history of Riga and the Baltic region.

Curatorial concept of RIBOCA2 is curated by Rebecca Lamarche-Vadel, a French curator who describes her concept as the “recovery of re-enchantment”. “The Biennial finds inspiration from Riga, Latvia and the Baltics, where “worlds have ended” many times in its history, having undergone occupations, wars and economic flux. These conditions cultivated inspired practices of resilience that culminated in the surreal human chain of two million citizens, a 600 km social sculpture, linking Tallinn to Riga to Vilnius in 1989. Riga and the Baltics have also been a zone of cultural entanglement for centuries, a bridge at the confluence of territories, where sensitivities and ideologies have been assembled and enmeshed since its very inception,” she explains. Read more about the curatorial concept

RIBOCA2, that expects visitors until mid-October, will have events and exhibitions scattered across the parks and former industrial sites, wastelands, homes, monuments, hotels, harbours and restaurants in Riga.

The biennial will bring together around 60 artists and creators from local and international scene. The artworks will challenge the traditional definitions of art as the artists work and think beyond disciplines. As the biennale focuses on promoting local and neighbouring art scenes, almost a third of the participating artists are from the Baltic countries and more than half of the participants are from the Baltic region.

RIBOCA2 Participants


Pawel Althamer*, Poland (b. 1967)

Kristaps Ancāns*, Latvia (b. 1990)

Alex Baczynski-Jenkins*, Poland and UK (b. 1987)

Nina Beier*, Denmark (b. 1975)

Oliver Beer, UK (b. 1985)

Hicham Berrada*, France and Morocco (b. 1986)

Dora Budor*, Croatia and USA (b. 1984)

Eglė Budvytytė*, Lithuania (b. 1981)

Valdis Celms*, Latvia (b. 1943)

Emanuele Coccia, Italy (b. 1976)

CAConrad, USA (b. 1966)

Lorraine Daston, USA (b. 1951)

Edith Dekyndt*, Belgium (b. 1960)

Vinciane Despret, Belgium (b.1959)

Erika Eiffel*, USA (b. 1972)

Vija Eniņa*, Latvia (b. 1941)

Miķelis Fišers*, Latvia (b. 1970)

Heinz Frank*, Austria (b. 1939)

Monica Gagliano, Australia

Cyprien Gaillard*, France (b. 1980)

Bendik Giske*, Norway (b. 1982)

Honkasalo-Niemi-Virtanen*, Finland (Felicia Honkasalo (b.1986), Akuliina Niemi (b. 1987), Sinna Virtanen (b.1987))

Katrin Hornek*, Austria (b. 1983)

Pierre Huyghe, France (b. 1962)

Marguerite Humeau, France (b. 1986)

IevaKrish* (Krišjānis Sants, Latvia (b. 1989), Ieva Gaurilčikaitė, Lithuania (b. 1992))

Mikhail Karikis, Greece (b. 1975)

Agnese Krivade*, Latvia (b. 1981)

Lina Lapelytė*, Lithuania (b. 1984)

Hanne Lippard*, Norway (b. 1984)

Anna Lowenhaupt Tsing, USA (b. 1952)

Mikhail Maksimov*, Russia (b. 1974)

Mareunrol’s*, Latvia (Mārīte Mastiņa-Pēterkopa (b. 1982), Rolands Pēterkops (b. 1982))

Berenice Olmedo*, Mexico (b. 1987)

Dominika Olszowy*, Poland (b. 1988)

Sarah Ortmeyer*, Germany (b. 1980)

Philippe Petit, France (b. 1949)

Bridget Polk*, USA (b. 1960)

Paul B. Preciado, Spain (b. 1970)

Tobias Rees, USA and Germany (b. 1973)

Ugo Rondinone, Switzerland (b. 1964)

Jaanus Samma*, Estonia (b. 1982)

Tomás Saraceno*, Argentina and Italy (b. 1973)

Boaventura de Sousa Santos, Portugal (b. 1940)

Ashley Hans Scheirl*, Austria (b. 1956)

Augustas Serapinas*, Lithuania (b. 1990)

Marina Simakova, Institute of the Cosmos, Russia (b. 1985)

Timur Si-Qin*, Germany (b. 1984)

Nikolay Smirnov*, Russia (b. 1982)

Anastasia Sosunova*, Lithuania (b. 1993)

Daina Taimiņa*, Latvia (b. 1954)

Anton Vidokle, Institute of the Cosmos, Russia and USA (b. 1965)

Arseny Zhilyaev, Institute of the Cosmos, Russia (b. 1984)

* An asterisk denotes a new commission